Marathon Des Sables

A day and night of Triumph and Tragedy

The 4th stage of the marathon des sables. 56 miles- 81.5 km over sand,dunes, rocks, mountains, through stony river beds and across endless dried lakes. Always with the sun beating down and the heat radiating up. Splendid torture. I could feel the pus seeping through into my socks from around 15km in. My feet were radiating balls of agony by the end. At four in the morning, I had a low point, my legs were swollen and barely moving and I couldn’t find any green route markers. But the moon came out and lit up the plateau, I found some energy and kilted John from Glasgow caught me up and we saw the dawn break two hours later as we sprinted through the line, 21hrs and 12mins after starting.

We felt like Olympians!

The euphoria is still there but am fearful for tomorrow as I can’t put weight on my feet

 

About aliceoutthere

I have just signed up to run the hardest footrace on earth - the Marathon Des Sables - in 2014. I have never even run a marathon before. This blog will log my progress. I love adventures, I work in media and travel and I speak fluent Arabic.

Posted on April 11, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Nice work on the biggest day, Alice!! Way to push through. Sending good energy your way for today’s miles. So inspiring!

  2. Libby Raper 07887 657094 libbyraper@yahoo.co.uk

  3. Michael Netzsch

    Hi Alice,

     

    You are unbelievable. I keep my fingers crossed for You that You can continue.

     

    Bali Mike

     

     

     

    Von: aliceoutthere <comment-reply@wordpress.com> An: michaelnetzsch@web.de Betreff: [New post] Marathon Des Sables

    aliceoutthere posted: "A day and night of Triumph and TragedyThe 4th stage of the marathon des sables. 56 miles- 81.5 km over sand,dunes, rocks, mountains, through stony river beds and across endless dried lakes. Always with the sun beating down and the heat radiating up. Splen"

  4. Keep at it, we are all very proud of you xxx

  5. Way to go Alice!! (This is Alexis, the American girl from the Auberge) 🙂

Leave a Reply

